Sunday Makeup | Freelance Makeup Tips & My Kit

Hello everyone and happy Sunday! Today I though I would chat about my little freelance makeup business and some habits to get into when working with different clients. I’m not sure if I have mentioned it before but I do freelance makeup and I have an instagram (@glamourbyariana) where I post my work so be sure to check it out! I work in the New York area so  check out my Instagram for how to contact me if you need your makeup done!

fullsizerender-4

I think the first major thing when working with clients is having good communication. There is nothing worse than paying someone to do your makeup (or hair or anything) and you hating it in the end. Be sure to find out what event your client has, their skin type, and how long they’ll be wearing the makeup to start. I always ask what look they have in mind and ask to see any pictures if they have any. There are always those clients that are going to say “do whatever I know nothing about makeup.” This is a blessing and a curse if you ask me. I totally love having the creative freedom but I don’t want to give them a look that will make them feel totally uncomfortable so in that case I like to ask some more questions such as:

matte or shimmery eyeshadow? eyeliner – winged? none at all? lashes – strip or individual? are we going for a more full glam look or natural?

Besides asking these things as I am going through the look I ask more questions. It may seem forced and annoying at first but remember your ultimate goal is to make your client happy so they rebook you!!

Next I want to just talk about hygiene. It is so important to be cleaning your brushes, tools and wiping down your products between clients. You definitely do not want to be known as the makeup artist that Jane Doe got an infection from. Not cute. I use baby soap, dish soap or the beautyblender solid cleanser to clean my brushes and sponges. Between clients I use a spray with rubbing alcohol, soap, and water to spot clean. (You can purchase your own spot cleaner but this is a DIY version I made). Jasmine Hand, who is a YouTuber, has great videos on cleaning your kit between clients as well as amazing client tutorials so be sure to check her out for a more in-depth explanation!

Lastly I just want to go over some of my favorite products that I just about always use on clients. I’m obsessed with the Benefit Porefessional Primer. I truly don’t think anything smoothes out the skin better than this. I also use my Graftobian Palettes on everyone. Whether I use it as a foundation, or to cream highlight and contour, or even to conceal, these are amazing. They’re so pigmented and blend super well. I obviously use the Laura Mercier Loose Translucent Setting Powder (along with the rest of the world) on my clients to set their face/bake. I also love using Becca x Jaclyn Hill Champagne Pop on clients because it compliments so many different skin tones! As for eyes, I always prime with a MAC Paint Pot. I have a few colors so the color I use depends on the look the client wants. My go-to palettes for clients are the Kylie Cosmetics Bronze Palette, Too Faced Sweet Peach Palette and the Carli Bybel Palette by BH Cosmetics. And don’t forget to set!! I use MAC Fix + and/or Urban Decay All Nighter Setting Spray.

Don’t want to give away all my secrets just yet!! I really love doing people’s makeup and love seeing their reaction when it’s complete!! And if I’ve done your makeup you know the best part is taking selfies with my ring light after.

Prom season is coming up so if you want to book an appointment with me be sure to contact me as soon as possible!

Heres some pictures of some of the work I’ve done, you can find more on my Instagram!

fullsizerender-5 fullsizerender-7
fullsizerender-6

Talk to you soon,

Ariana

Pin this post!

Leave a Reply

